Deleted Posts and Pages
- Another user deleted the post or page
- Recover a post or page using Google's cache
- Deleted content from your editor
The Trash feature allows you to remove items without permanently deleting them. If you have previously moved an item to your trash folder, you can restore it within thirty days from the time the item was trashed.
Another user deleted the post or page
If an item has been permanently deleted from your blog by an authorized user, there is no way to recover it, so be very careful when permanently deleting anything from your blog, and assign the proper user role for blogs with multiple users.
Recover a post or page using Google’s cache
You might be able to recover a post or page using Google’s cache.
If your Privacy Settings (Settings -> Privacy) has been set to “Allow search engines to index this site” and the post/page has been published long enough for Google to index it, you can try the following steps:
- Go to http://www.google.com
- Submit a search for the post/page URL or a combination of your blog’s URL and the post/page title.
- If you receive a matching result, move your cursor over the result so the two right-facing arrows appear, hover over the double arrows, then click the Cached link.
If this displays a recent version of the post/page, you can then simply recreate a new post or page with the cached content.
On a related note, if you’re trying to recover a post, you might also want to change the Published date to match the date for the cached post, which you can do from the Publish module. (You can see Schedule a Post for details.) Plus, you can edit the post slug so it matches the original post URL.
Here are screenshots that indicate where the Cached link will appear within Google search results:
Deleted content from your editor
If you have accidentally deleted content from your editor, you can try these two undo commands:
- CTRL+Z (Windows)
- CMD+Z (Mac)
This may not work in every situation, so your other option is our Post Revisions feature.