Users

Deleting Accounts

WordPress.com accounts cannot be deleted. However, you can easily delete your blog. If you’re unhappy with your account or blog for any reason, we can probably help. Feel free to contact us.

If you wish to leave WordPress.com, you can just leave your account inactive. To unsubscribe from any email notifications from WordPress.com, go to your subscription settings and check the box that says Block Emails and click save. See the subscriptions support page for more information about this.

Renaming accounts

If you just want to change your username, see the instructions on the Change Username support page.

In a nutshell, under Users → Personal Settings, you can click on the change link next to your user name to change it.

↑ Table of Contents ↑

Reusing email addresses

Every WordPress.com user account has a unique email address, so you can’t create two account with the same email address.

If you want to use the new account with the same email address, follow these steps:

  1. Log into your current account (the one with the email you want to use).
  2. Under Users → Personal Settings, change the email address on the account. You can use any active email that you have access to. This will free up the primary email for the new account.
  3. You’ll receive an email to confirm the change. Click on the confirmation link, and log out of the account from My Account → Log Out.
  4. Sign up for a new account with the primary email address.

If you already registered the new account, repeat step 2 while logged in to the new account to change the email address on that account too.

Note: It may take some time for our system to completely release your e-mail address for use with another account. Please be patient, but if the delay seems longer then normal, please contact support for further assistance.

Still confused?

Contact support.

Not quite what you're looking for?

Get Help