When you delete a post, page, or comment from your blog, it will be moved to the Trash folder. You have separate trash folders for posts, pages and comments. This feature makes it extremely difficult to accidentally delete a post or page from your WordPress.com blog. Items within your trash folders can be restored or permanently deleted within 30 days of their original trashing.
Moving a Post or Page to Trash
When editing a specific post or page you will see the Move to Trash link in the Publish module:
Once you click the link, the post/page should be successfully moved and you will see an option to Undo the move:
You can also move a post/page to Trash from Posts -> Edit or Pages -> Edit. Simply place your cursor over any post or page, and a few linked options will appear. Click on the Trash link:
Moving a Comment to Trash
You can move any comment to your Trash from the Comments panel in your dashboard. Simply place your cursor over any comment, and a few linked options will appear. Click on the Trash link:
The comment will be moved to the Trash status. You will then be given the immediate option to Undo the move:
Permanently Deleting an Upload
You can permanently delete any upload from Media -> Library. Simply place your cursor over any upload, and a few linked options will appear. Click on the Delete Permanently link:
Note that unlike posts, pages, and comments, deletions from your media library are permanent and will not be moved to a trash folder.
Accessing your Trash
Posts, pages, and comments each have their own trash folders. To access them in your dashboard:
- Posts: Posts -> Edit
- Pages: Pages -> Edit
- Comments: Comments
You will see a list of linked statuses at the top of any of the above pages. Click on the Trash link to access all files currently existing within your trash folder:
Restoring from Trash
Enter the Trash status/folder of either your posts, or pages and place your cursor over any item you wish to restore. You will see two linked options: Restore and Delete Permanently. Click on the Restore link:
The item should then be removed from the Trash folder/status, and you will receive a message that the restoration was successful:
Permanently Deleting a Post or Page
To permanently delete a post or page you will need to enter your Trash status/queue and place your cursor over any item you wish to delete forever. You will see two linked options: Restore and Delete Permanently. Click on the Delete Permanently link:
The item should then be removed from the Trash folder/status, and you will receive a message that the deletion was successful:
You can also easily permanently delete all items currently in any Trash queue/status by clicking on the Empty Trash button:
Important: Once you choose to permanently delete an item from your Trash folder, there is no way to recover or restore it!
Please be aware that files in the trash are automatically deleted after 30 days.