Writing & Editing

Writing Helper »Request Feedback

Have you ever wanted to show someone a post before it’s published, but don’t want to add them as a user of your blog? Maybe you’re collaborating on it with someone, or perhaps you just want to make sure you didn’t make any embarrassing typos. Good news, Request Feedback is for you!

All of the writing helpers are shown together. To start using Request Feedback click on its widget and it will open right in place. Note that if you have already published a post, you will not see the Request Feedback option unless you requested feedback before you clicked Publish.

Request feedback

To request feedback from someone, all you need is their email address. Type their email address into the request form; if you want to request feedback from multiple people you can separate their email addresses with commas. By default we’ll send a nice note for you, but if you want to customize it you can click the “Customize” link next to the “Send Requests” button. Make sure to include this text at least once: [feedback-link] (including the brackets). That tells us where to include the secret link for each invitee. If you take them all out, we won’t send the emails for you until you add at least one back.

↑ Table of Contents ↑

Sent requests

Once you’ve sent requests for feedback, whenever you visit the blog edit page again and go to the Request Feedback section you’ll see all of the people you’ve sent invites to. If they’ve responded with any feedback, you’ll see that too.

↑ Table of Contents ↑

Read new feedbacks

Whenever someone respondes to one of your requests by providing feedback, we’ll send you an email letting you know. You can read their feedback in the same place you sent the request. We’ll show you the first sentence or so, and if it’s longer than that you can click the [+] link to expand it.

↑ Table of Contents ↑

Leaving feedback

If anyone ever requests feedback from you (congratulations!) you’ll get an email with a special link just for you. Don’t share it, or else other people will be able to leave feedback “as you.” The link will take you to a page that looks mostly like an ordinary blog post, with two key differences. First, the post you see will be a draft that hasn’t been published yet, so no one else can see it unless they have been invited. Second, there will be a new sidebar on the left side of the page with a form to leave your feedback. This works pretty much like a comment form and anything you type in there, once you submit it, will be sent to the blog’s author for review.

↑ Table of Contents ↑

Publishing

For posts where you request feedback you can publish them just like any other post. When you do, we’ll send an email to each of the people you requested feedback from letting them know that the post was published and with a link so that they can read the results of their hard work.

↑ Table of Contents ↑

Revoke access

If you ever change your mind and decide you don’t want someone to see your post before it’s published, or if you accidentally entered the wrong email address, you can click the “Uninvite” link under any invitee row. That will disable their special link and prevent them from seeing your post or sending you feedback.

↑ Table of Contents ↑

The link that your friends get when you request feedback from them is secret, but can be shared like any other link. Make sure you request feedback only from people you trust not to share posts you don’t want them to. Like anything else on the internet, it’s important to think about who you’re sharing your content with. If you ever want to revoke access for a certain person’s link, you can do that by following our Revoke Access guide.

↑ Table of Contents ↑

RIght now we only support sending links via email. Since pretty much everyone has an email address, we thought this was the best place to start.

Didn’t get any feedback?

If you request feedback but don’t get any, you didn’t do anything wrong. It just means that your friends haven’t gone to your post and left any feedback yet. We recommend calling anyone who hasn’t responded and yelling at them vigorously — or if you’re not ready for that, maybe just send a reminder email.

↑ Table of Contents ↑

Post updates

Whenever someone clicks on their secret link to see your draft post, they’ll see the most up to date version. For instance, if you request feedback at 1pm and then save a new draft at 2pm, then your friend clicks their secret link at 3pm, they’ll see the latest draft, not the one you had saved when you originally sent the request.

↑ Table of Contents ↑

Follow up requests

If you want to request feedback from the same person for a second time, you can just enter their email address again and they’ll get a new email request. Alternatively, if you want to talk to them directly, you can tell them to use the same link they already received to go back and leave a second round of feedback.

Still confused?

Contact support.

Not quite what you're looking for?

Get Help