Users

Account Deactivation

If you are finished with your WordPress.com account and would like to shut it down, please follow the steps outlined below to deactivate it.

Note that because we don’t want other people to have your username in the future, it is not possible to delete a WordPress.com username.

Empty and Delete Your Sites

You can empty your sites of all content and then delete them by following these guides:

Please be aware that this is irreversible so if you want to keep a personal copy of your site contents you should export it before emptying and deleting it.

If you have any trouble emptying or deleting your sites, our support team would be happy to assist you. You can reach out to us from https://wordpress.com/help/contact .

↑ Table of Contents ↑

Remove Your Personal Information

By editing your Account Settings you can remove all personally identifying data except the account username and email address. The two primary locations you might have configured personal information are:

If you want your email address disconnected from the account the easiest way to do so is to:

  1. Create a throwaway email address from an online email service provider
  2. Change the account email to that throwaway address.

↑ Table of Contents ↑

Disable Your Gravatar

If you configured your Gravatar profile when you signed up, you can remove profile information through the My Profile page.

You can also remove any Gravatar profile pictures you added, plus all email addresses except your primary account email, from:

https://en.gravatar.com/emails/

If you choose, you can hide your Gravatar profile from external access. To do so:

  1. Click the My Profile link in the top menu bar
  2. Click the “View Profile” link immediately under your name in the right sidebar
  3. Click the “Hide Profile” button

↑ Table of Contents ↑

Unsubscribe from Email Notifications

To unsubscribe from any email notifications from WordPress.com, go to your subscription settings and check the box that says Block all email updates from blogs you’re following on WordPress.com. See our Following Blogs support page for more information about this.

↑ Table of Contents ↑

Change Your Username

Although we do not allow for the deletion of usernames, it is possible to change your username. You can find instructions for how to do this in our Change Your Username support page.

↑ Table of Contents ↑

Change Your Password

When you have finished scrubbing your account you can prevent all further access to it by updating the password to a random string of 15 to 20 characters. Passwords can be changed from https://wordpress.com/me/security; you can use our “Generate strong password” button to make sure it’s a secure and random password that’s unknown to anyone.

↑ Table of Contents ↑

Additional Deletion Options

When you follow the above steps a record of some of your information will still exist on our servers.  We plan to offer additional ways to delete information from our servers in the future. Please see our GDPR guide for more information and updates on this work.

Not quite what you're looking for?

Get Help