Writing & Editing

Autosave

As you write and edit your posts and pages on WordPress.com, the changes you make are automatically saved every 2 minutes. In the lower right corner of the editor, you’ll see a notification of when the entry was last saved to the database.

Autosave1

Autosaves are automatically enabled for all posts and pages. The feature can’t be turned off. There is only one autosave for each post or page, and each new autosave overwrites the previous autosave in the database.

Autosave on Published Content

If you are editing a post or page that has already been published, autosave continues to work, but it will not overwrite any of the published content.

The changes will not be displayed on the blog until you click the Update Post/Page button in the Publish module. You can find the last autosave, if there is one, and other post revisions in the Post Revisions Module.

↑ Table of Contents ↑

Editing a Post/Page with an Autosave

If your browser crashes while editing or you go back later to edit a post/page, you will see a warning at the top of the screen that looks like this:

Autosave2

You can click the “View the autosave” link to make sure you are viewing the latest version, or you can stay on the same page to start again. If you do click the link, you’ll be taken to the Revisions page, where you can restore the autosave by clicking the blue Restore link next to it.

Using Browser Restore

If you go offline while editing a post, autosave can’t save anywhere because you are not connected to the internet. This is where Browser Restore comes in. It will store your content in your browser’s local storage. When you get reconnected, you’ll see the option to restore the backup. Clicking this option will allow the browser-stored content to pop back into your text editor.

Autosave3

Still confused?

Contact support.

Not quite what you're looking for?

Get Help