Users

Close My Account

You can permanently close your WordPress.com account from your Account Settings screen:

Close account section of the Manage Account screen

This not only shuts down your username, it deletes all the sites you own and all their contents. After a few weeks, this data will be entirely purged from our servers and the process cannot be reversed. Therefore, please be certain you want to cancel your entire WordPress.com presence before proceeding.

You may also consider less drastic steps:

Cancel purchases first

If you have a WordPress.com plan or other upgrade, you will need to cancel active purchases before you can delete your account. This can be done on the Manage Purchases of your account. Some sites on our Business plan may need to contact support to complete an account deletion.

WooCommerce.com also affected

WordPress.com accounts are also used to manage WooCommerce.com purchases, tickets and subscriptions. Therefore, deleting your account may close off your access to WooCommerce assets. You can check the information in your WooCommerce.com dashboard for your account, before you delete, to ensure you are not unintentionally deleting something you want to keep.

↑ Table of Contents ↑

Usernames cannot be re-used after closure

While all data associated with an account is removed during a closure, the username is blocked from being registered again, in order to prevent impersonation.

↑ Table of Contents ↑

Account Restoration

It is possible to reverse an account closure for the first 30 days after an account is closed. If you realize you closed your account in error, please contact us immediately. We will be able to assist you in reopening your account during this 30 day window. Once the 30 days have passed, all of your sites and account data are purged and cannot be restored.

Please note that during this 30 day window your account data persists, which means that you cannot use your account email address to sign up for a new WordPress.com account. Once the 30 days are up and your account is purged, your email will be freed to use with a new account.

Not quite what you're looking for?

Get Help