General

Create a Blog or Website

Whether you’re starting your first blog, or a professional site, or looking to add a new site to your existing account, registering is easy!

Watch this video to find out about the options available on WordPress.com

Signing Up for Your First WordPress.com Site

Fill out this signup form to create your first WordPress.com site.

Creating a new WordPress account

Your username can include lowercase letters (a-z) and numbers.

Make sure to create a secure, memorable, password that uses uppercase and lowercase letters, numbers and characters like ! or @.

↑ Table of Contents ↑

Adding a New Site or Blog to an Existing Account

You can add more than one site or blog to your WordPress.com account. This will allow you to use a single login (your account) to manage multiple sites and blogs.

Once you have created more than one site on your account, you’ll see the option to Switch Site under My Sites.

Switching Sites

Paid plans are applied to a single site. New sites or blogs will need to have their own paid plan.

How to add a new site or blog to an existing account:

  1. Log in to your account (if you are not already logged in).
  2. Visit https://wordpress.com/start to create your new site.

Or…

  1. Log in to your account (if you are not already logged in).
  2. Click on My Site.
  3. Select the Add New Site option at the bottom of the menu.

If you already have more than one site, go to My Sites Switch Site and the Add New Site button will be at the bottom of your sites list.

Add New Site

↑ Table of Contents ↑

Moving a Custom Domain to a New Site

If you have registered a new domain name on your existing site, but meant to create a new site for the domain name, you’ll want to follow the steps to sign up for a new site under your existing account. Once you have created the new site the domain can be moved using these steps.

When you get to the step in the sign-up flow to Give your site an address, do not choose the Already own a domain option. Since the domain name is already attached to a WordPress.com account, you will want to select the free WordPress.com address.

Free Address

↑ Table of Contents ↑

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I re-use the site address of a deleted site?

A WordPress.com site owner can choose, at any time, to permanently delete their site. There are any number of reasons someone may want to do this, and we certainly respect their wishes and decisions.

Sites that have been deleted by the owner will remain deleted. We cannot, under any circumstances, allow someone to take over a site name that was previously owned and deleted by its original/previous owner. Please do not submit support requests asking us to do this.

I bought a new domain name and I want it to show a different site.

Your site can have as many custom domain names as you want. If they are all set up on the same site, they will all show the same content.

If you want to create a new site, with different content, under a new domain name, you will want to follow the steps to create a New Site.

If you have already bought the domain name on your site and want to move it to a new site, click here for step-by-step instructions.

How do I change my Site/Blog Address?

When you sign up for an account, you have the option to select your site address. You can select the default, free, WordPress.com address (sometimes shown as yourgroovysite.home.blog, or yourgroovysite.food.blog), and you can change the “yourgroovysite” part of the address through Manage → Domains → Change Site Address.

If you select a custom domain name for your site, the domain name itself cannot be changed if it has been registered more than 48 hours. However, you can purchase a second domain name for your site through Manage → Domains → Add Domain, and then set this domain name as your primary site address.

Reserved Site Names/URLs

When a WordPress.com user signs up for an account we reserve the URL of their username. So if they signed up for the username of exampleuser we would reserve exampleuser.wordpress.com for them. There is nothing we can do to unreserve it and you will need to choose a different name.

Still confused?

Contact support.

Not quite what you're looking for?

Get Help