Deleting a site permanently removes it and you’ll never be able to re-use its WordPress.com address (such as
If that’s not what you want to do, you can instead:
- Change your site’s address and keep your content
- Delete old posts and continue using the same address
- Empty your site of all its content for a fresh start and continue using the same address
- Transfer your site to someone else
- Make your site private so only people you invite can see it
Permanently deleting your site
If you’re sure you want to permanently delete your site, here’s how to do it.
If you site has any of the following upgrades, you will need to remove them first:
- Premium or Business Plan
- Custom Domain
- Domain Mapping
- Premium Theme
- Any other upgrade
See the Deleting a site with Upgrades section for more details.
Before you do anything else, empty your site of all the contents by following the instructions on this page – then, continue on with these steps:
Step 1 – Visit your site’s settings page by clicking on My Site(s) and then Settings
Step 2 – Scroll to the bottom of the Settings page, and select Delete Site
Note that site deletions are permanent!
Step 3 – On the following screen, you will first be presented with the option to export your content. Once you delete your site, this content won’t be recoverable, so we advise exporting the content to a .zip file before taking any further steps. You can do so by clicking the Export Content button.
Step 4 – Once you have exported your content, scroll down to find the Delete Site button. If you have multiple sites on your account, be sure to confirm that the correct site address is listed in the yellow alert bar
Step 4 – Confirm the deletion. Enter the address of the site (shown in red) into the provided field, then click the Delete this Site button
This is the final step – once you click Delete this Site your site will be permanently deleted.
At this point, anyone who attempts to visit your site will see a message stating that your site is no longer available and has been deleted by the authors.
Deleting a site with upgrades
You may see the following message during the deletion process:
This means your site has paid upgrades associated with it. Before you can delete your site, you’ll need to remove them. This prevents you from losing access to your paid upgrades.
If you are unable to cancel or transfer any of the upgrades, you can contact support for help.
Once your upgrades have been from removed from the site, you can click on My Site(s) and then Settings and start again.
I want to delete my account.
User accounts cannot be deleted. See the Deleting Accounts page for more information.