Writing & Editing

Editors »Post and Page Revisions

WordPress.com autosaves your work and stores 25 revisions for each post or page on your blog. Revisions allow you to revert to an earlier version of a page or post.

Table of Contents

Saving and Autosave
Viewing Revisions
Comparing Revisions
Restoring Revisions
Who Can See Revisions
Restoring Part of a Revision
Losing Content on a Post or Page
WP Admin Revisions

Saving and Autosave

As you write and edit your posts and pages on WordPress.com, the changes you make are automatically saved every few seconds. In the Publish Module at the top right of the editor, you’ll see the notification move from Save Draft to Autosaving to Saved.

  • Autosaves are automatically enabled for all posts and pages. The feature can’t be turned off. 
  • You can save manually by selecting Save Draft

Autosave on Published Content

  • If you are editing a post or page that has already been published, autosave continues to work but will not overwrite the published content. 
  • The changes will not be displayed on the blog until you click the Update button in the Publish module.
  • You can find the last autosave, if there is one, and other post revisions in the Post Revisions Module.

Editing a Post/Page with an Autosave

If you go offline while editing or you accidentally navigate away from a post/page while drafting, WordPress.com will save your post to your web browser’s local storage, and you’ll see a note when you return to the editor:

Click Close to return to the draft as-is, or Restore to restore the most recent autosave. You can also browse the revisions at any time to restore an earlier version of your content.


↑ Table of Contents ↑

Viewing Revisions

The Revisions screen shows any backup copies of your post or page. Each time you save a draft manually or select Update, a revision is saved. WordPress.com will store the last 25 revisions for each post or page on your blog. Revisions allow you to look back at the recent changes you’ve made and revert to an earlier version if necessary.

  1. Go to My Site → Site Pages (or Posts)
  2. Edit the page or post you want to view revisions for.
  3. On the right side, under Document Settings, look for Revisions.

The Revisions module will not show until there are revisions to view.

Revisions - Document Settings

If you are using the Classic Editor, you can view your Revision History using the History link at the top of your editor.


↑ Table of Contents ↑

Comparing Revisions

To view your Revisions, click on a given revision in the revisions list on the right. Alternatively, you can use the j and k keys on your keyboard for keyboard navigation. The changes in each revision will be highlighted in blue (for additions) and red (for deletions):

Revisions - Comparing Revisions Unified View
Comparing Revisions – Unified View

Clicking the Split button will allow you to view the revisions with deletions on the left, and additions on the right.

Revisions - Viewing Revisions - Split View (1)
Comparing Revisions – Split View

When you view a given revision, it will show a comparison with the revision immediately previous to it.


↑ Table of Contents ↑

Restoring Revisions

To restore a previous version of a page, select the desired revision, then click on the Load button at the bottom.

Clicking the Load button loads the selected revision into the editor. In order to keep the changes, you will need to save the draft, or Update the page.

Revisions - Load Revision
Load Revision

↑ Table of Contents ↑

Who Can See Revisions

All administrators and editors on your blog can see all post revisions. Authors can see post revisions for any post they have authored (which are the only posts they’re able to view on the homepage). Contributors can see post revisions on their drafts.


↑ Table of Contents ↑

Restoring Part of a Revision

You can copy parts of revisions into your current document. Highlight the part of the revision you want to recover, click Cancel to close the Revisions window, and paste the part of the revision into your document.

Copying part of a revision can be messy, since the revision shows the HTML code as well as the text. You may want to try pasting the revision text into an HTML block, or switching a block to HTML before pasting the text.


↑ Table of Contents ↑

Losing Content on a Post or Page

If you ever lose content for a post or page you were working on, the best steps are to:

  • Check the post/page revisions.
  • Check the post or page trash sections to make sure the post/page wasn’t deleted by mistake.
  • Check your other drafts in both posts and pages to make sure you didn’t start writing a post as a page, and vice versa.
  • Ensure you don’t have another tab open to the post or page editor. This will prevent an autosave from overwriting your work.
  • Ensure that autosave is working and that the post says Saved in the top right every few seconds after making changes. If it’s not, make sure you select Save Draft manually to ensure the post or page is saving, then try clearing you browser’s cache.
  • Remember that the revision history only covers the last 25 revisions.
  • If you’re writing a very long post within the editor itself, it’s a great idea to keep a backup by copying and pasting it onto your local computer somewhere, such as in a Word or text document.

Pages: 1 2 View All

Still confused?

Contact support.

Not quite what you're looking for?

Get Help