You can use the Export tool to backup all of your content or move your content to a new WordPress site.

Manual export or Guided Transfer?

Free, self-directed exports are optimal for people who merely want to save a copy of their content or who are comfortable migrating to other hosts without assistance. We also offer a Guided Transfer service, which is a great option for people who find the migration process intimidating and would like expert help to assure an effortless transition. We charge a one-time fee of $129.00 for the Guided Transfer service.

If you like the sound of the Guided Transfer option, stop reading here, head over to the Guided Transfer support page, and purchase the service from there. The purchase process will take you through the next steps. If you’d prefer to download your own export file, keep reading.

↑ Table of Contents ↑

Export Your Content to Another Blog or Platform

It’s your content; you can do whatever you like with it. Go to My Site → Settings  and select the Export tab to download a copy of your blog’s content. The content will be delivered as a series of XML files, which will contain your posts, pages, comments, categories, tags, and references to your site’s images.


If you’d like to export all of your content, just press the Export All button. If you’d like to export a subset (a single author’s posts, for example, or a certain category or date range), click the arrow next to the Export All button to see the advanced options.

Export Selected

Once you’ve selected the content you wish to export, press the Export Selected Content button.

At this point, you can remain on the export page to wait for the export file to become available. A handy notification will appear, offering you a download link.

Export Success

The link will contain a download of a .zip file containing any export files (larger blogs will include more than one export file). This ensures the completeness and fastest performance of the export process. When importing back into another blog, you’ll need to unzip the file and import each of the .xml files individually.

If you’d like to carry on with blogging, it’s safe to navigate away from the screen once the export is in progress. We’ll also email you a link to the export file, which will remain available for download for about a week.

Note: This will ONLY export your posts, pages, comments, categories, and tags; uploads and images may need to be manually transferred to the new blog. The current version of the installation gives you the option to import uploaded files, but the blog you are importing from must be live and serving images properly in order for it to work. So, if you intend to delete content (or the whole blog) here at, please wait until after media files have successfully been imported into the new blog, and make sure your site is not set to private!

If you would like to move your blog to a self-hosted installation, take a look at these recommended web hosts.

↑ Table of Contents ↑

Exporting Media from Private Sites

If your site is marked “Private,” your media files will not export properly. Part of the export process creates links to your media files which a site will use to import your media. Before you begin your export process, you will need to make your site public under My Sites → Settings → General in order for the media files to work properly in your new imported blog. As soon as you have completed the import into your new site and have confirmed your media has been successfully imported, you can return your site’s visibility setting to “Private” again.


↑ Table of Contents ↑

To learn how to export your Links (Blogroll), please see Import & Export Links.

↑ Table of Contents ↑


If your blog is hosted here at, we handle all necessary backups. If a very large meteor were to hit all the servers and destroy them beyond repair, all of your data would still be safe and we could have your blog online within a couple of days (after the meteor situation died down, of course).

But if you want to back up your blog content manually, you are free to do so by using the My Site → Settings, Export tab option described above. This is certainly still a good idea, especially if you’ve assigned additional users to your blog. Editors and administrators have the ability to delete any posts or pages, and there is no way to recover material that they remove from your blog.

↑ Table of Contents ↑

Setting Up a Redirect to Your New Domain

Are you leaving You can easily redirect (as well as all of your permalinks) to your new domain name with the Site Redirect upgrade.

↑ Table of Contents ↑

Blogs Using Custom Fonts

As part of the Premium or Business upgrade, you are able to set custom fonts for your site title, headings, and body text. Guided Transfers are not currently available for blogs which use custom fonts. You can transfer your blog elsewhere by following these steps.

Still confused?

Contact support.

Not quite what you're looking for?

Get Help