Domains, FAQ, Upgrades

FAQ: Renewing and canceling

Renewing your plans and domains
Where can I renew my plan or domain name?
How can I turn on automatic renewal?
I’d like to renew, but can’t log in. How can I gain access to my account?
Why can’t I renew a domain name or plan on my site?
Where can I see if my plan or domain name has been renewed?

Canceling your plans and domains
How can I cancel my domain name?
How can I cancel my plan?
Where can I see if my plan or domain name has been canceled?
How can I turn off automatic renewal for my domain name or plan?
What happens if I don’t renew my plan?
What happens if I don’t renew my domain name?

Other changes to domains and plans
How can I stop receiving notifications about my domain name?
Can I change my domain name?
How can I use my domain name with a site hosted somewhere else?
How can I transfer my domain registration?
What features are included in my plan?

 


 

Renewing your plans and domains

Where can I renew my plan or domain name?

You can renew your plan or domain name in the Manage Purchases section of your Personal Settings.

How can I turn on automatic renewal?

Automatic renewal is enabled on all upgrades with up-to-date payment information. You can confirm whether automatic renewal is enabled for your plan via Purchases. Click the upgrade you wish to check to view renewal details. If the upgrade is set to expire then click on the Renew button and follow the screen prompts.

I’d like to renew, but can’t log in. How can I gain access to my account?

If you have access to the email address used to create the account, you can reset your password using our Lost Password form. If you no longer have access to the account or to the email address listed for the account, you can use our account recovery form to gain access.

Why can’t I renew a domain name or plan on my site?

Only the owner of the domain name or plan may renew the upgrade. If you don’t see the option to renew listed via Purchases, let the owner of the upgrade know so they can renew it.

Where can I see if my plan or domain name has been renewed?

You can check your plan or domain’s status in the Manage Purchases section of your Personal Settings.

 

↑ Table of Contents ↑

Canceling your plans and domains

How can I cancel my domain name?

To cancel a domain you registered with WordPress.com, please log into your account and go to the Manage Purchases section of your Personal Settings. Click on the domain and then the button to Cancel.
If it’s been more than 2 days since the purchase date, you will not receive a refund but the domain can still be canceled by contacting support.

How can I cancel my plan?

You can cancel your plan via Purchases. Click the button to Cancel below the plan details. Follow the prompts to cancel your plan, and be sure to check your email for a link to confirm your cancellation.

Where can I see if my plan or domain name has been canceled?

You can check your plan or domain’s status in the Manage Purchases section of your Personal Settings.

How can I turn off automatic renewal for my domain name or plan?

You can turn off automatic renewal for your domain name or plan by choosing the option to cancel on the Purchase page. If your domain name or plan is outside of our refund window then it will stay active until its expiration date and you will not be automatically charged for its renewal.

What happens if I don’t renew my plan?

If you choose to let your plan expire, your site will be switched to our Basic (free) plan. You will no longer have access to the features included in your plan, but your site’s content will still be available.

What happens if I don’t renew my domain name?

If you choose not to renew your domain name, we recommend that you cancel it completely. To cancel your domain name, please contact support.

 

↑ Table of Contents ↑

Other changes to domains and plans

How can I stop receiving notifications about my domain name?

We send domain notifications to alert you about upcoming charges to your account or changes to your domain. In the event that your domain expires, it may be difficult or impossible to get it back. Canceling your domain is the only way to turn off notifications.

Can I change my domain name?

Registered domain names cannot be changed, but you can register a new domain name for your account by following the steps listed in our guide to registering a domain.

How can I use my domain name with a site hosted somewhere else?

You can change your domain’s name servers to use it with another hosting provider.

How can I transfer my domain registration?

If you’d like to transfer your domain’s registration to another registrar, you can follow these steps to unlock it and receive a transfer code.

What features are included in my plan?

We’ve got a comparison chart of all of our plans. Links to individual plan details are at the bottom.

Not quite what you're looking for?

Get Help