Upgrades

Plugins »Managing plugins

After you install a plugin, it will appear in a list at My Sites → Plugins. This list will display any plugins you’ve installed yourself, as well as certain built-in plugins like Akismet and VaultPress.

On this page, you can deactivate plugins you’ve installed by using the “Active” toggle switch. This is recommended if you are not making use of the plugin, as too many unused plugins can impact site performance.

You can also turn off Autoupdates for a given plugin, but this is not recommended.

If you click the “Edit All” button, you’ll gain the ability to activate and deactivate multiple plugins at a time. You can also enable or disable autoupdates for multiple plugins, or remove them from your site altogether.

Finally, if you click on the name of a plugin, you can read all about the plugin – what new functionality it provides, how it works, and how to adjust its settings.

Changing plugin settings

Most plugins can be managed from the classic WP Admin dashboard. You can access the classic dashboard on the WordPress.com sidebar or at https://yourgroovydomain.com/wp-admin/, updating yourgroovydomain.com with your site address.

Once you’re in the classic dashboard, a given plugin’s settings may be found in the top-level sidebar menu.

Alternatively, a plugin’s settings may be under Appearance, Tools, Settings, or another menu item. For example, a popular footnotes plugin places its settings at:

↑ Table of Contents ↑

Need help with a plugin?

General plugin troubleshooting and support is provided by your friendly WordPress.com Happiness Engineers. More advanced support may be available from the plugin’s author. Please see the plugin’s documentation for details.

Not quite what you're looking for?

Get Help