Writing & Editing

Post Locking

Working in a multi-author environment? Post Locking lets you see at a glance who’s editing a post, and prevents authors from overwriting each other.

If you navigate to All Posts in your dashboard, you will be able to see who is editing what post.

Screen Shot 2013-04-09 at 11.53.12 AM

If you click on a post that another editor is working on, you will have three options to choose from: Go backPreview, and Take over.

Screen Shot 2013-04-09 at 12.02.00 PM

  • Go Back: Will take you back to the page you came from.
  • Preview: Will let you see a preview of the post/page, but will not let you edit it.
  • Take Over: Will force the other author out of the post/page and allow you to edit.

If you are in a post and someone has “Taken Over” your post, you will see an alert to prevent you from continuing to work on the post. To get back into the post, click “Go To All Posts,” then re-open the post. If another editor is still in the post, you can now click “Take Over.”

Screen Shot 2013-04-09 at 9.08.14 AM

Not quite what you're looking for?

Get Help