General, Tools

Transferring a Site to Another WordPress.com Account

You can transfer ownership of a site to another WordPress.com account by following the step-by-step instructions below.

The instructions from this guide are referring to the WP Admin dashboard. You can get to this dashboard by adding /wp-admin to the end of your site’s url (e.g.: example.wordpress.com/wp-admin)

If you also want to transfer the ownership of a custom domain name, start by transferring the domain name to the new account owner. Then, transfer the blog/site.

If your site has the Business or eCommerce plan with Plugins or third-party themes installed, you will want to transfer the custom domain and then contact us for help moving the site ownership to the new owner.

Start Blog Transfer

These instructions also apply if you are transferring a site, not just a blog.

Open the My Blogs page. Move your mouse over the site you would like to transfer and click the Transfer Blog link that appears. You will only see the option to transfer a site if you own it.

Select New Owner

Carefully read the warning message. If you wish to continue with the transfer, click the box next to “I understand, now let me continue”

In the box that appears, enter the username or email address of the WordPress.com user you wish to transfer the site to, then click Transfer Blog.

Check Your Email and Confirm Transfer

Check the inbox of the email address your WordPress.com account is registered to. Open the email we’ve sent you and click the link it contains to finish the transfer.

Your blog transfer will not be completed until you click the link.

You will see a confirmation message once your transfer is complete.

blog-transfer-successful

↑ Table of Contents ↑

Transferring a Blog/Site with a Custom Domain

If you want to transfer a blog and you also own a custom domain on the same blog, you will first need to transfer the domain to the blog’s new owner before you’ll be able to transfer ownership of the blog itself. You can find the instructions to do that here.

If you forget to transfer the domain first, don’t worry. All that will happen is that the transfer won’t be instant, but instead will create a support ticket and one of our Happiness Engineers will be in touch to help you complete the process.

After transferring the domain, please remind the new owner to update their domain contact information.

↑ Table of Contents ↑

Transferring Paid Plans and Upgrades

If your site has a paid plan or other upgrade that you’d like to transfer to the new owner, please contact us and a Happiness Engineer will help with the plan transfer. Transferring the site does not transfer plans or upgrades.

Not quite what you're looking for?

Get Help