Update Contact Information for a Domain
Domain owners are required to provide current and valid contact information. If the information you provided when you first registered your domain is no longer accurate, make sure to update it.
To update your domain’s contact information, visit Domain Management by going to My Site(s) → Domains (select your site if you have more than one), and click on your domain. Here you will see a summary of your domain details with options below: Email, Name Servers and DNS, Contacts and Privacy. Click on Contacts and Privacy then click Edit Contact Info to edit your domain contact information.
If your information is available to edit it will look something like this.
Phone numbers must be formatted as
+countrycode.phone_number. For example, a US phone number would need to be entered as
If you have privacy enabled you might receive a message stating that you need to contact support to change your details.
You can either disable privacy in the privacy settings to be able to edit your contact information, or you can contact us via live chat in your dashboard (when available), or email us to disable it for you.
Email or name changes
Under ICANN policy we have to treat any change in the following items as a change in domain ownership:
- Email address
- Organisation name
- First name
- Last name
That means these changes need to be confirmed via email before they can take effect. Changing these details will also cause a 60-day transfer lock to be applied to the domain, unless you specifically opt out during the process. During this time you will not be able to transfer your domain to another registrar, but the domain itself with continue to work as usual.
Depending on when you registered your domain, and the type of domain you registered, this process will happen in one of two ways:
Option 1: We are able to do the verification on your behalf. When you visit the Contact Details page you’ll see a notice at the bottom that you authorise us to act as your Designated Agent, and there will be an option to opt out of the transfer lock.
Afterwards, you’ll receive an email confirming the change. You will receive a separate email to verify your domain again – please make sure to do so.
Option 2: You will need to confirm the change via an email sent to both the old and the new email address. When you click the Save Contact Info button, you will see the following notice displayed on the screen:
This will be followed by an email to both email addresses, each containing a link to a confirmation page. The option to opt out of the transfer lock will be on the confirmation for the old address.
If you no longer have access to the old email address, or you try to change it and the confirmation emails don’t arrive, please contact us so we can help.